Content for a (pre/se)quel....

Discussion in 'Arcanum 2 Suggestion Forum' started by Charonte, Feb 15, 2010.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Charonte

Charonte Member

Before this descends into the atypical 'it'll never happen' glass half empty crap, a couple of things.

I have been programming for 7 years, I am very profficient in C++, python, java and lua, having used or atleast tried a dozen or so other languages over the years. This is hardly my first project and I'm not 'dreaming' about what we can achieve, I'm very much aware of what the (likely) limitations will be.
    I'm also not promising anything, I love arcanum and would like to see another game in the same setting. Even though I'm currently unemployed with nothing better to do, I can't actually guarentee it'll get anywhere although I'll give it a go.

Anyways, being in the situation I am, I've been toying with the idea of an isometric engine over the last couple of days - I've got pretty much all of the design work done and I'm 90% sure the tiling/dynamic lighting/map loading algorithms will be fine if I can remember them. Most of the OpenGL groundwork has been coded already.
    I didn't actually have any plans as to what I should do with it, although I do like the idea of an arcanum prequel and I figure why the fuck not.

Going to need some help though, I can't draw for shit and it's unlikely I'll have the time to write for the entire game as well as code.

At this point I'm more interested in hearing ideas, I do like the idea of mages working inside and against vendigroth, although the ending seems a little predetermined (nothing saying it has to be the same though) and I'm not sure how much scope there would be outside of vendigroth.