Arcanum:WIP 6.0 now available

Discussion in 'Module Discussion' started by rroyo, Jun 8, 2008.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. team a

    team a New Member

    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    RRROYYYYOOOO!!!!!!

    About time to see the 4.0. I can't wait to get to it, once I finish up some projects.

    "T'e'MHbIu`s Manual View Patch" - What is this? I was actually going to do some proto and art editing to do what I imagine, from context, this achieves. It changes the symbol on the non-mechanical manuals?
     
  2. Frigo

    Frigo New Member

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    Game does not retain options like game difficulty, brightness, etc.
     
  3. Vorak

    Vorak Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Just going through Harden's Pas at the moment and found 2 issues.

    1. This cow is a silhouette:
    [​IMG]

    2. The map won't work
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Frigo

    Frigo New Member

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
    The map doesn't work normally either, only if you have already went through the pass.
     
  5. Vorak

    Vorak Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Well thats one problem solved already.

    I generally just teleport straight to Quintara so its been a while since I dealt with the pass.
     
  6. team a

    team a New Member

    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    The townmap for that sector should probably work though, right? But for space considerations, rroyo usually goes light on the townmap data. Still, I would expect it to be there from the original mod...
     
  7. Vorak

    Vorak Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Well the map may have been modified to include the camp he added.

    Also, in that house outside the Boil that you can use as a base is the murdered nobleman part of a quest or is it just random? I'm just wondering if theres a reason why his corpse never goes away.
     
  8. Wolfsbane

    Wolfsbane Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    He's James Bond, isn't he? And the HO is Jaws, if I'm not mistaken.
     
  9. Vorak

    Vorak Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    I didn't look at their names; Although its hilarious now I've heard that.

    Still even Bond would rot after death.
     
  10. rroyo

    rroyo Active Member

    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    team a - "T'e'MHbIu`s Manual View Patch" - Check this out!

    http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o314/rroyo/Arcanum/TechManuals.jpg

    Pure art-work, no protos involved. As soon as I hear back from the creator, and if he gives his permission, I'll submit it in his name for hosting at T-A.

    Vorak - The cow at the pass - Although I did use a dark brown cow, yours has been turned around and then silhouetted. Most odd. Keep your eyes open for more of these glitches and I'd love to hear from anyone else who's seen this.

    team a - I didn't do a new townmap for the pass. This was an "Easter egg" of sorts.

    Vorak - I'm not sure why the nobleman isn't decomposing. The "No Decay" flag is clear even in the packed version. He should have rotted away. Again, I'd love to hear from anyone else who's seen this.

    Wolfsbane - Those two are getting a name change! :lol:
     
  11. Frigo

    Frigo New Member

    Messages:
    2,107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2006
  12. rroyo

    rroyo Active Member

    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    Frigo, if my monitor shorts out, I'm sending you the bill!
    I had a mouthful of coffee when I read that!

    I believe it's possible to create individually marked scrolls, but it would be a rather large undertaking.

    Also - Brookside is still empty. Just the sign and the Vortahm. Those who like to analyze situations should get an idea on what to expect when the place is built.

    Edit:
    I'll check this out when I get home from work. Although I've had no trouble with the unpacked version, the packed one might be a different story.
     
  13. Vorak

    Vorak Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    5,827
    Likes Received:
    21
    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Okay I'm in Leahbo now:

    1. The Innkeeper won't enter conversation no matter how many times I click on her nothing happens. You can kill her but thats about it.

    2. The General Store has the shopkeepers inventory in an unlocked barrel. I appreciated the 18,000 gold but you really should have to at least pick the lock.
     
  14. wastelandhero

    wastelandhero New Member

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Just a thought Rroyo. Have you ever thought of putting some kind of reference to Gandalf into Brandybuck?
     
  15. rroyo

    rroyo Active Member

    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    I did, but rejected it. That seemed just a little too much.

    Vorak - noted. The innkeeper never has worked right, but I didn't know about the unlocked barrel.
     
  16. wastelandhero

    wastelandhero New Member

    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Ok, I think I discovered why I was having troubles with the pyro-bow. I remember someone saying that fire obstruction was second to last in explosives. In my game it is the 4th listed, not the 6th. Wierd huh, fire obstruction is swapped with stun grenade in my AWIP, but the desciptions are not. Where stun grenade should be it has the correct description for it but is listed as fire obstruction and vice-versa for fire obstruction. Just for kicks I went back to stock game a rechecked and all is normal.

    Can others please check their listings for explosives to see if it is just my game or not?

    I have the same issue with 3.0 and 4.0.
    Here is from AWIP:
    [​IMG]

    Here is from stock:
    [​IMG]

    On closer inspection levels 4 5 6 and 7 are swapped to 6 7 4 and 5.
    I checked all other disciplines and explosives is the only one affected.

    Also after returning from Cattan I was unable to tell the halfling's parents that he will be home soon. I get the dialoge as if I had never been there.
     
  17. frosted ambassador

    frosted ambassador New Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Once I hit level 11, quests no longer actually give me much experience. I mean, I did three quests and it only moved me up one notch. I'm confused.
     
  18. Wolfsbane

    Wolfsbane Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,498
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2005
    Maybe that depend on the quests, yesno?
     
  19. frosted ambassador

    frosted ambassador New Member

    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Another example.

    I killed ten people in Tarant, lvl 20s about. And my bar moved maybe one cm. And the quests are Gilbert Bates ones.
     
  20. Darkform

    Darkform New Member

    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    exp to gain lvl 12 + is more do to the extra quests added to the game. it is set to were you need 1.75 exp per exp point you would have needed in stock game with no additions starting at trying to get lvl 12.

    it was 2 for 1 and to goto lvl 11 + but I convinced Rroyo to lower it before he let others play it. right after he uploaded this build of 4.0 I sudgested he do it as:

    1X lvl 1-10
    1.5X lvl 11-20
    2X lvl 21-30
    2.5X lvl 31-40
    3X lvl 41-50

    because it is a little tough lower lvl at 2x or 1.75X for lvls 11 or 12+ but lvl 21-30 it is ok and lvl 31+ lvling gets pretty easy.
     
Our Host!