Limited numbers of effets in effect.mes ?

Discussion in 'Modding and Scripting Support' started by Nataku, Jul 25, 2013.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Hi everyone. I'm sorry asking help every days (I presently testing new parts of my mod) but THIS is a capital matter for my mod (more than weapons using ammo or eyes candies) :
    Is there a limited number of effect in effect.mes and in gameeffect.mes
    Actually, until now, I used gameeffect.mes (in the module.rule file) for the effect 0-49 then effet.mes (in data/rules) for the effects 359 and more. But the effect over 400 doesn't work :
    -If a script grant them, the game is crashing :-o Items should give them at the WIELD ON point
    -If a bless give them (I tried even it doesn't happen in the mod), the player receives the bless message but haven't the effect.
    The effect lines are perfect (here some examples which doesn't work :
    {414}{speed +3}
    {415}{speed +2}
    {416}{speed +1}
    {417}{}//EMPTY special Sidereal bracelet
    {418}{ac +1} )
    The script lines or the blessing lines have no matter.
    If only it could be solved with blesses/curses, I could give player a bless/curse for each item (it could be strange but if it works...)
    Once again, I fear it's hard coded, the number of lines read by the game could have been limited by Troika. So if someone could highly increase the limit, I will be thankful.

    EDIT : Possibly, I could delete approximately 100 effect from Arcanum, but it won't be enough for all the mod : some objects I created, because they come from a set, need 15 effects :-o

    Btw : the 1.7.0.4 patch makes the game crash when the player gain XP to level 50 ? Is it just with my game or is it a known bug ?
    Thanks
     
  2. rroyo

    rroyo Active Member

    Messages:
    3,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2006
    The stock limit is set at 400 (0-399) but Drog posted the hex values you could modify in the Arcanum.exe to gain more:

     
  3. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Re:

    This is exactly what I needed. But... actually... I don't know anything about how to modify that kind of data :???:
    How could I do that please ?
    (500 effects are, unfortunately, really too limited for me. I would prefer 10000 0:)
    EDIT : I'm currently trying with the tutorial about Hex editing, I will tell you the results

    (For the crash bug, it doesn't matter : I will uninstall the patch after my module tests
     
  4. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Okay, I downloaded a Hex Editor but... how I'm supposed to modify the code ?
    I try to follow this tutorial.
    [​IMG]
    I found the lines you talk about (for example, 000E9A1C leads me to the green square) but I don't know how I am suppose to write 1027 in there.
    Btw, 10000 shouldn't be 2710 in hex code instead of 1027 ?
    Thanks you a lot
     
  5. Muro

    Muro Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,179
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Doesn't sound normal. Do you have a modified xp_level.mes?

    Take a look at the one below. Crashes happen when a level is reached and there is no line for it in the file. This also goes for {51} for when you "gain" a level while already being at level 50.

    // this file contains the experience values for character levels
    // each line is the minimum xp value needed to be the level that
    // is line number
    // NOTE: only the lines 1 thru 50 are valid, and line 1 should always
    // be 0 xps

    // All of these values are 25% of what they should be until we get more secondary quests in the game.

    {1}{0}
    {2}{2100}
    {3}{4600}
    {4}{7700}
    {5}{11400}
    {6}{15500}
    {7}{20300}
    {8}{25600}
    {9}{31600}
    {10}{38300}
    {11}{45600}
    {12}{53600}
    {13}{62400}
    {14}{71900}
    {15}{82200}
    {16}{93300}
    {17}{105300}
    {18}{118200}
    {19}{132000}
    {20}{146700}
    {21}{162500}
    {22}{179300}
    {23}{197200}
    {24}{216300}
    {25}{236500}
    {26}{257900}
    {27}{280600}
    {28}{304600}
    {29}{330000}
    {30}{356800}
    {31}{385100}
    {32}{414900}
    {33}{446300}
    {34}{479500}
    {35}{514300}
    {36}{551000}
    {37}{589500}
    {38}{630000}
    {39}{672500}
    {40}{717100}
    {41}{764000}
    {42}{813100}
    {43}{864600}
    {44}{918500}
    {45}{975000}
    {46}{1034200}
    {47}{1096200}
    {48}{1161100}
    {49}{1229000}
    {50}{1300000}
    {51}{1380000}
     
  6. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Yes. I have one. I rebalanced the level exp for my mod.
    I will uninstall patch, it causes me too much problems :(
    Thanks.
     
  7. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    Re: Re:

    Hello. I ask to someone familiar with HexEditors and we replace all the indicated values bu 2710 but nothing happened.
    So can you write me the procedure to do it correctly ? Thanks you (my module thanks you too ;) ).
     
  8. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    [​IMG]

    Noone seems to know, I will try to be clearier :
    Here are the values mentioned by Drog (modified in 2710). Nothing happened after that.
    What could I forgot please ?
     
  9. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    I tried again and I obtain a different result :
    I understood that values are read "reversely" (10000 is actually 10 27, 500 F4 01 and not 01 F4, ...).
    So I tried three times and, instead of having no effects like the first time, it made the game crash :
    I try 10 27 (10000), E7 03 (1000) and F4 01 (500) like you ins A:WIP (to make a test, as I said it it won't be enough for CrossRoad).
    I tried to open Arcanum.exe for A:WIP 6.0 and I saw you place 01 F4 in the sames slots than me.
    So I guess there is another change to do but I don't know what because the A:WIP's code is entirely different from the Arcanum.exe (1.0.0.1. I think).
    Could you say me how I am supposed to encode that change please ?
    Thanks
     
  10. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    EMERGENCY HELP NEEDED PLEASE !!!
    Yes, actually I would need a answer about it. Didn't anyone knows what change could be missing to make it works ?
    Thanks
     
  11. Nataku

    Nataku Member

    Messages:
    243
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2011
    I DID IT !!!
    I must confess I took the .exe of the UAP and I change 90 01 (400) to 10 27. Drog prepared the modifications to the effects numbers but let them to 400.
    Thanks to Drog and rroyo.
     
Our Host!