I just dont get the point

Discussion in 'Arcanum Hints & Tips' started by Zekuta, Sep 29, 2003.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Zekuta

Zekuta New Member

Ok im a little new to the game arcanum, so i might get this whole thing wrong.. what is the meaning with the tech manuals ? i get 13 more in electricity if i buy the manual but that still does not make me able to make anything new .. ? :/

2. Solaris

Solaris New Member

You usually require some skill in two disciplines to make something out of the found schematics. And, of course, you need the parts.

Oh and it is not enough to have tech manuals if you want to make something of the schematics that are in your character profile. You LEARN them by investing character points.

3. labyrinthian

labyrinthian New Member

No I think he understnds the idea, Solaris. He's just saying that the manuals don't provide enough of a bonus when they are in your inventory to be worthwhile. In a way, I agree. i bought all the manuals more for completeism than anything else.

Basically, though, I think they're designed so that if you understand a little, they help you understand more. Thus, if a magick character picks up a manual, the game doesn't want him to be able to build Bronwyck's Gun, so the bonus provided to firearms by the manual alone is not that great. It is more helpful for someone with a little firearms and a little explosives to equip both manuals.

However, I am curious about one thing: does anyone know if the manuals provide greater bonuses as your tech aptitude goes up?

4. Solaris

Solaris New Member

The bonus from the manuals is INT dependent. Drink a Potion of Intellect, and the bonus almost doubles.

5. Blinky969

Blinky969 Active Member