hey computer geek!!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by RPjunkie, Mar 1, 2004.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. RPjunkie

    RPjunkie New Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Aight, nobody get offended by the thread title. I dont know much of anything about programming. And I would like to know how to get links into your signature. This is what I have to work with:
    If'n someone could please explain how I would get this into my sig as a picture.jpeg/whatever that would be great. I admit that I know just enough to get around and that is it. I see that many of you have pics or pic-links in your sig; and I just want to know how to get my own object in my sig.

    Thanx ahead guys :)
     
  2. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    I'm going to guess that the forum doesn't support Flash code in sigs. PRAISE THE LORD.

    Why don't you just make a jpeg or whatever out of it, and link to that?

    BTW, I saw the Flash file you're trying to link to. Please reconsider. :)
     
  3. DarkUnderlord

    DarkUnderlord Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
  4. Jarinor

    Jarinor New Member

    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Yeah, I tried using a simple Java script in my sig a year or so back, and the forum definitely didn't like it. Flash is a really bad idea as well.
     
  5. Rane

    Rane New Member

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2003
    Also, phpBB doesn't support Flash...
     
  6. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    I sure as hell get plenty of annoying Flash banner ads around here, which I haven't yet figured out how to block. Some of them are positively seizure-inducing.
     
  7. MatahChuah

    MatahChuah New Member

    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Get mozilla. With mozilla, you can right click on any banner ad and choose "block images from this server" and you'll never see the ad again. And, I use Proxomitron.
     
  8. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    I have Firefox, and that only works with normal graphical banners. Not with Flash.
     
  9. MatahChuah

    MatahChuah New Member

    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Proxomitron would disable flash banners then. Or, if it's not set to do that at default, you could set it to do it. It has a butt-load of configuration options.
     
  10. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    The point of using something like Firefox though is to decrease bloat. I like not having several other programs running just to make my browser functional.

    Right now I'm trying the ad block extention: http://texturizer.net/firefox/adblock.html

    Works pretty well so far, will have to see if it fixes everything.

    BTW, I thought Proxomitron was dead?
     
  11. MatahChuah

    MatahChuah New Member

    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    It is, but you can still download the remains.
     
  12. RPjunkie

    RPjunkie New Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Aight then! This is what I have for a jpeg?(whatever that is or means):
    So how do I get this into my sig if I wanted? Thanx for the help guys/gals :)
     
  13. Jarinor

    Jarinor New Member

    Messages:
    6,350
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Assuming that the code was correct, just copy paste it in.
     
  14. RPjunkie

    RPjunkie New Member

    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    aight......the copy and paste didnt work!? where did I fuck up?? there should be a small pic there! I need a comp tutor to show me how not to get my ass kicked by my pc :lol:
     
  15. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    The forum gods have rejected you. Your faith must not be strong enough. Meditate further upon the Sacred Scriptures, and pray that you shall find enlightenment.

    http://www.terra-arcanum.com/phpBB/faq.php

    Code:
    [url=http://www.ferion.com/?p=212729][img]http://www.ferion.com/banner.jpg[/img][/url]
    I truly do pity you, the unfaithful. :cry:
     
  16. DarkUnderlord

    DarkUnderlord Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    4,315
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
  17. mrnobodie

    mrnobodie New Member

    Messages:
    2,114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Getting back on the pop-up killer issue, i've been using Crazy Browser for a couple of month's now and i'm yet to have a single one rear it's ugly mug or have any problem's with it. For those that don't know what C B is... do a search ya lazy bastard, do I have to do everything for you?.
     
  18. Sleek_Jeek

    Sleek_Jeek New Member

    Messages:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Here's a problem I've had since tuesday; I used spybot to get rid of some of the usual spyware garbage that builds up etc, and after i got rid of all the bad stuff my browser stopped working, and I couldn't go to any web pages. I could use AIM, and Kazaa, but internet explorer was done. I tried restoring the things I had often rid of, but the resoration options kind of leave something to be desired in that regards, and I wound up just restoring everything. Do any of you know what might have caused this problem?
     
  19. MatahChuah

    MatahChuah New Member

    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
  20. Canis

    Canis New Member

    Messages:
    2,081
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2002
    FIREFOX!!! Forget Mozilla and get FIREFOX!!! :hugs Firefox:

    It's never a good sign when IE stops working though, considering how intertwined it is with the operating system. If you can't get Spybot to restore the files you might wish to reinstall IE or take the opportunity to update Windows. :(
     
Our Host!