College Advice

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mesteut, Jul 21, 2009.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Mesteut

Mesteut New Member

Next year is kind of big for me because I will be sending in my college applications! Still, I'm in need of advice, and I decided to ask here because, umm, I don't have any other place to ask as of the moment. I want to have the best (=most amount of party+fun+sex) college experience possible while still getting the best possible physics education. So which colleges do you think I should apply? Stanford would be an enormously long shot, but I'm hoping for UCLA at the moment, or UCSB.

Some info on me:

- GPA's are 83.81 (9th), 83,44 (10th) and 85.77 (11th). (In Turkey, any grade above 70 is nice, with 85+ being excellent)
    - I took introductory, advanced and modern physics. I have basic knowledge on nuclear physics and quantum theories.
    - In my yearly homework projects, I worked on railguns, gauss guns and analyzed a military project in depth. Got straight 100 from 2nd and 3rd, 94 on 1st.
    - My math grades are respectively 88, 94, 89 (Last one from Calculus AB, and misses 90 by 1 point in finals)
    - SAT Reasoning: 2120. SAT Subject Tests, Math2: 800 and Physics: 800. All first tries. (I'll also take Math1 because some colleges want 3 subject tests)
    - AP Scores: Physics C: E&M, Physics C: Mechanics and Calculus AB all came in 5.
    - I was a mid level fencer, and I was a decent central-defender/stopper in real football/soccer. My only lacking was in muscle power, but I think I fixed that by gaining like 3kg in muscle this summer (and I'm still working out). Think in the U.S., I'd be something like a defensive star because they suck at football so hard.

Any thoughts on where I should apply?

2. wobbler

wobbler Well-Known Member

I would advice you to ask, you know, a school advisor who actually cares a shit about this.