Arcanum map

Discussion in 'Arcanum Discussion' started by Frigo, Nov 13, 2010.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Frigo

Frigo Active Member

Just sharing something old I found only now

[​IMG]

2. Zanza

Zanza Well-Known Member

I have begun creating a map of Arcanum on Civ5, it is taking a while though as I want it to be large and I'm still learning a thing or two about map editors.

3. Langolier

Langolier Member

You know one thing I've always wondered is... exactly how big is Arcanum?

I recall reading somewhere a long time ago that it might actually only be as big as the British Isles. That might have just been speculation.

Regardless, there's a whole world out there outside of the landmass we see... I wonder what it is like.

4. Crypton

Crypton Member

Singleplayer map has 2000x2000 sectors, one sector has 64x64 tiles, one tile has 80x40 pixels...

Summed, its 10240000x5120000 pixels, in isometric view.
    To convert that results into rectangular view, you must double its height and rotate it counter-clockwise by 45°.

In other words, its a HUGE map. :thumbup:

5. Zanza

Zanza Well-Known Member

Think he meant more geographically in scale with continents on our world.

6. Viktor_Berg

Viktor_Berg New Member

I'd wager every tile is around 1x1 meters, which would make the game world as a whole 128000x128000 meters, or 128x128 kilometers.

I might have something wrong in the calculations there, but seems like the map is actually rather small compared to our Earth's continents.

The continent of Arcanum is even smaller, considering there is ocean all around it.

7. Muro

Muro Well-Known Member

I would say your calculation is correct. I just independently did the same thing myself - but assumed one tile is 90 cm (~3 ft) long - and the result was that Arcanum is a square with a side of 115,2 km (~71.58 miles).