Addon in progress,A few questions

Discussion in 'Modding and Scripting Support' started by 5th_horseman, Jun 3, 2004.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. 5th_horseman

5th_horseman New Member

I've recentily joined your forum, I'm in a remote area in outback Australia, until now home internet access has not been availble,and is still a not good, forget downloading! A single mp3 file could take a hour, nor is it cheap, about Aus$5 per hour. My time online is limited, in fact I'm writing this offline and will cut and post it. So bear with me if my questions/ideas have been covered in other posts.

I've been playing about with an add-on for Arcanum, for the last six months, that will give sea travel to the game. The idea being early in the game the PC has a ship and is able to sail around the coast land at a point close to the destination, then travel overland to it, then return to ship. The addon will merge with the central quest of the game it may extend play beyond Kerghan. Another few months should see it finished, I'll burn it disc and send to a mate for uploading.

Some of the things I have done, others I would like to include are:

1/Freeport: a pirate state basicily a hangout for NPC's that are wanted/unwanted anywhere else but are too tough or useful too be killed off, anything is for sale in freeport for the right price, all the usual bars, brothels, fences, junkdealers, pickpockets, shopkeepers, plus the forger who can provide a copy of the schematic you need to finish a quest but want to keep, or mage/techie who can provide/make you that item/found schematic you want, the cartographer and gossip monger.

Problems: NO major problems new map, build town, add people, write scripts/dialogs, add inventories. Same old story just takes time. [In progress.80% finish]