A question of personal rights

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DaneKoponen, Dec 14, 2010.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. DaneKoponen

DaneKoponen Member

I'm something of a pyromaniac, and I've always had a fascination with fire, and later, explosives. I never felt these were unhealthy interests, and I made efforts to channel that curiousity into productive activities- I worked as a wildland firefighter for 3 years, which was basically the perfect job :)

Later, I started experimenting with some basic sorts of things in the privacy of my own home, eventually working my way to more complex ideas.

At one point I was doing testing with some fairly advanced compounds, even by military standards.

http://rapidshare.com/files/424130865/CarDemolition.mov

http://rapidshare.com/files/429489878/FAE.mov

I was young, as I still am, but I was sure to keep safety of others my foremost concern.

Sadly, others did not see things this way and I've since had to put a stop to my activities.

My question is, in things like home experimentation, where do you think the government should draw a line on what a person can and cannot do?

I'm curious to hear thoughts from people in various countries. America has a rather zealous anti-terror stance, and is eager to associate a person's private testing with such nonsense :cry:

2. Grakelin

Grakelin New Member

They should draw the line at you blowing shit up.

3. DaneKoponen

DaneKoponen Member

How about someone just messing around with a blackpowder+gas tube charge (I don't know what they're called, but its just a fireball maker, like they use for Hollywood explosions). Plenty of people mess around with stuff like that, or have fun with oxy-acetylene. Or for instance the kinds of things they do at Burning Man and many other events:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l9vYE7B1_PU

And for what reasons would you draw a line? What concerns do you have?

4. Xz