Mage Build Help

Discussion in 'Arcanum Hints & Tips' started by Drake2, Aug 30, 2010.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Drake2

Drake2 New Member

I just got back into playing Arcanum, and I was thinking about playing as a mage, however, I have no experience with mage characters, as all of my Arcanum experience comes from my partial playthroughs with tech and melee characters. This being said, I'm hoping for some advice in creating a good mage character. Thanks in advance for any help.

2. Zanza

Zanza Well-Known Member

Its hard to go wrong with a mage character if you have 100% magic aptitude (gained by learning spells) and using Harm as your spam attack. After choosing Harm all you have to do is fill in the gaps for aptitude. Personally I go through the Conveyance tree to get teleportation and if I am feeling up to it the Force tree for disintegrate.

3. magikot

magikot Well-Known Member

Getting the spell Charm Beast will make traveling while a low level a breeze. Just tell your part to back off then charm the level 15 bear that decided to ambush you and virgil and you'll be good :)

As said above, Harm is your bread and butter spell. Get it early and use it often. As your MA goes up so does the power of Harm.

Other useful spells (you won't be able to take all of these I don't think): Shield of Force, Disintegrate, Body of Air/Water, Teleport, the entire White Magic school, the Temporal spells if you want to also engage in melee or to buff your melee comrades (also get strength of earth and agility of fire to further buff combat), Wall of Force/Fire + Unseen force is a fun combo, Stun, the Summoning spells are great for gaining more followers.

4. Drake2

Drake2 New Member