Lord of the rings Module designs

Discussion in 'Module Discussion' started by Taure, Sep 29, 2005.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. Taure

Taure New Member

:)

Hello ! Arcanum is such a great game, and Lord of the rings such a cool universe, I always wondered why nobody makes mods out of it ?

I tried, and find a basic issue : the scale factor. How to scale LOTR to Arcanum map size ?

I studied with this map :

http://szurkulet.hu/Altalanos/10_Terkep/intterkep.htm

( This is a cool map, used in LOTR first Trading card game)

( Relating to time travel, I came up with the conclusion that Arcanum world map is 1/10 scaling arcanum screenplay size, and considering a 1m70 human height in pixels, and the great map scales I found, I came with the conclusion that: )

making squares 400*400 pixels out of the http://szurkulet.hu/Altalanos/10_Terkep/intterkep.htm
    map would be an accurate size scaling.

But in the end, I ended up with the conclusion that 357*357 pixels for square size would be better, because it checkers teh great map into 12,5 square width and 8 squares high, and that doesn't actually significantly change much the scaling computing I did.

So to put it brief : Look at this map :

make a 357 pixel grid inside
    choose a square ( or several ones ) that interrest you within
    and use them as world map parts

This study may seem a little boring, but ths point is : to come up with a common solution, a common standard, so peopel can build cool LOTR mods AND be able to exchange or use other people maps.

The whole point is to have a 'checkered' map, with a 'square' logic ( and not a 'place' logic ( which means you look for the square map that contains Moria, not for a map named 'moria' )

I mean: one could feel like having the energy to make a cool Moria, but designing a great 357*357 map is long enough in LOTR world! beleive me lol