firendly fire incident and Q's about Jayna S.

Discussion in 'Arcanum Hints & Tips' started by dsatt12, Jul 25, 2004.

Remove all ads!
Support Terra-Arcanum:

GOG.com

PayPal - The safer, easier way to pay online!
  1. dsatt12

dsatt12 New Member

This is my first time through the game, and ran into a little trouble around lvl 15 or so.

I've got a tech dwarf, and had Jayna Styles with me once Virgil's spells quit working on me reliably. She kinda sucks, but that's not so much the issue.

I had a tesla rod for her, which she promptly repeatedly discharged into Magnus's back. He took exception and lopped her head off. At the time I didn't have any of the tech resurrection potions on me. I only found one in tarant much later actually.

I basically went to an older save game and gave Jayna a non-ranged weapon to prevent this after she did it twice.

If I ressurect her after my cohorts do her in, will they still hate her, or will they be friends until she tries to fry them again? I'd like to give her a tesla gun if I ever get the schematic and the right gun, but I can't see her reaction time improving that radically so her shots get there before the melee fighters do. Combat is usually over really damn quick at this point, which seems to be the norm if I'm reading things right around here.

Maybe a better question to ask would be does anyone use her? Is there a better way to heal myself- I can't make anything better than healing salve yet (at least anything better that gains me HP back). If you do use her, what weapons do you prefer for her?

Thanks!

2. Solaris

Solaris New Member

Are you nuts? DO NOT give Jayna or Magnus any kind of ranged weapons, Tesla rods included. They are not trained for it. They have no Firearms skill, and they will ALWAYS miss a lot.

Jayna is a melee fighter. Give her a Pyro axe, (without a shield)- and watch her slicing and dicing your opponents into pork chops. She can be quite effective this way, despite low ST.