[Search] [FAQ] [Register] [Login] [Usergroups] [Members] [Rules]
[Terra Arcanum] [Forums] [Gallery] [Downloads] [Troikapedia] [Arcanum Wikia] [Troika Games]
 
Support Terra
Arcanum:
Good Old Games
 
 


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 2:51 am Post subject:  Arcanum 1024x768 Edition v081004 [Discontinued]
 
The project is discontinued.

If you still have any version of this patch installed and would like to use the latest version of the UAP, then you need to uninstall the patch by deleting the following files:
Arcanum1024x768.exe
Arcanum8.dat
modules\Arcanum.PATCH3
Arcanum 1024x768 Edition.txt
ArcanumXSplash1024x768.dat (if you have it)

Please do not try using the patch with the latest UAP, it will definitely cause problems.

P.S. Eventually, a proper patch with support for any resolution will be made. I'll probably start working on it in a few months.


Last edited by Drog Black Tooth on Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:27 am, edited 8 times in total.

Top
  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 5:46 am Post subject: 
 
Untrained

Joined: Jul 27, 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Perth, WA
Hi!

I signed up to say thanks.

How are you handling the vicinity checks? Does the aggro range remain the same as with the 800x600 resolution? I'd hate to trigger the thugs in the Boil when I first enter Tarant. P:

Whenever I run the game in a higher resolution than intended, the gameplay window remains 400 pixels high, but expands to whatever the horizontal resolution I choose when I run one of the exe's. Is this what you are planning to change when you say you're working on an original mode?

Once again, thanks for doing this, as well as your work on the unofficial patches.

_________________
HYPERPOWERED! - Flickr - Last.fm


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 5:52 am Post subject: 
 
HYPERPOWER! wrote:
Hi!

I signed up to say thanks.

How are you handling the vicinity checks? Does the aggro range remain the same as with the 800x600 resolution? I'd hate to trigger the thugs in the Boil when I first enter Tarant. P:

Whenever I run the game in a higher resolution than intended, the gameplay window remains 400 pixels high, but expands to whatever the horizontal resolution I choose when I run one of the exe's. Is this what you are planning to change when you say you're working on an original mode?

Once again, thanks for doing this, as well as your work on the unofficial patches.


The installer adds links to Sierra\Arcanum folder in your programs menu (it even says so). They run the game in the fullscreen mode. If for some reason you can't use the said links, add -fullscreen to your link manually.

The compact UI looks like this:
Image


Top
  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 6:00 am Post subject: 
 
Untrained

Joined: Jul 27, 2008
Posts: 2
Location: Perth, WA
Too awesome, thank you very much. (:

_________________
HYPERPOWERED! - Flickr - Last.fm


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 7:26 am Post subject: 
 
A new zoomed out world map, 533x533 instead of 365x365, the extra details are really nice, I think.

Also, added fillers to top and bottom panels, no more black borders.
Image

Also, a few mock ups for other menus:
ImageImageImage

I think the logbook is OK this way. The character editor is too complex to mess with, moreover I can't think of a really good idea to reposition all these buttons and bars. Considering the inventory screen, I can probably expand it, so that you can carry a few plate mails without stuffing them into quick slots, but that would change the gameplay a bit, so I'm not sure.

Suggestions?


Top
  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 3:04 pm Post subject: 
 
Terra Arcanum Staff
Terra Arcanum Staff

Joined: May 9, 2006
Posts: 843
Location: You never know...
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
Considering the inventory screen, I can probably expand it, so that you can carry a few plate mails without stuffing them into quick slots, but that would change the gameplay a bit, so I'm not sure.

Suggestions?


I think it's ok to expand the screen.

Generally it's still the weight of the items that limits how much the character can carry, and how encumberated does the player want to be. Also stuffing things into quick slots already makes the size of the inventory less important, so making it bigger shouldn't affect the game balance at all.

It may make the gameplay a bit better, by reducing the need of rearranging the inventory. Simply a perk of a better version.

An idea for the worldmap is to include a ETA indicator (how long will it take to compleate the route) - provided adding new stuff is also possible. It could be in days or weeks even, without much accuracy.

Also, the extra space in the char editor could be used to display the current attack/damage/defense/resistances rating, reflecting the magic item effects changing due to magick/tech aptitude changes.

On the inventory screen, under the equiped items box, a display showing current bonuses/penalties would be nice, and weapon to-hit chance (on a AC=player's, Magick/Tech = 0 critter) - if complex formulas can be used there.

Just how much can be added and changed ?

_________________
“Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity”

http://hasthelargehadroncolliderdestroy ... ldyet.com/


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2008 11:33 pm Post subject: 
 
The_Bob wrote:
An idea for the worldmap is to include a ETA indicator (how long will it take to compleate the route) - provided adding new stuff is also possible. It could be in days or weeks even, without much accuracy.

Also, the extra space in the char editor could be used to display the current attack/damage/defense/resistances rating, reflecting the magic item effects changing due to magick/tech aptitude changes.

On the inventory screen, under the equiped items box, a display showing current bonuses/penalties would be nice, and weapon to-hit chance (on a AC=player's, Magick/Tech = 0 critter) - if complex formulas can be used there.

Those things are complex to hack in, and they're not really needed, hence they aren't there in the first place.

The_Bob wrote:
Just how much can be added and changed ?

Repositioning, redrawing, expanding. I'm not planning on adding completely new functions to the UI, this is a high-res mod after all, so it should enhance the gameplay in terms of increased resolution only.

I'll see what I can do about the inventory screen, but if I do expand it, it will most likely screw up the saves' compatibility, i.e. the new saves won't work with the original 800x600 version.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:44 am Post subject: 
 
Water Merchant
User avatar

Joined: May 10, 2007
Posts: 580
Location: In the Boil, killing members of whichever gang you like more.
Does the art for inventory, schematic, and paper doll automatically resize to fit? Judging by the dimensions for some of the .art files (some of which are very small), I would expect that it could, although you might have to redefine the size of what one tile in the inventory is.

Or, you could spread some of that spacing around, so the borders on the sides of each window are about the same. The worldmap looks pretty good this way. I imagine that this would require a lot of tweaking on some windows, but might not be as hard for others with fewer objects to display, like the logbook.

_________________
Spontz wrote:
Um, the force of the crash blew it off the PC's body and, um... into a cave... pardon me, the postman is here, and he'd like to deliver a letter-bomb from Isaac Newton).


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 10:20 am Post subject: 
 
OK, the initial version is ready. Almost all menus have been redrawn so they fill the whole screen. Only the main menu, options and some multiplayer related screens were not resized, as it's not really needed.

I'm quite happy with this version, so unless somebody finds a bug there will be no additions/changes any time soon.

Vicinity checks in scripts seem to work fine. The resolution isn't that high, so there's a slim chance of a bug.

The patch works on any version of the game that has the 1.0.7.4 patch, but the UAP is recommended. The patch has all the UAP specific engine tweaks. Also, it uses separate files, so you're still able to play in the original resolution if you have the mod installed.

In addition, I'd like to note that at any rate the game was never meant to be played in a resolution higher than 800x600 and this mod wasn't tested a lot, so there's a chance that you may run into a bug. In that case, please report it in this thread and it will be fixed.

The first post is updated with the download link.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 1:28 pm Post subject: 
 
Alchemistæ Metallum Magnus
Alchemistæ Metallum Magnus

Joined: Oct 14, 2006
Posts: 3310
Quote:
Vicinity checks in scripts seem to work fine. The resolution isn't that high, so there's a slim chance of a bug.


There goes my #1 concern - Thanks!

_________________
If you can't go through a problem, go over it, under it, or around it.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 2:31 pm Post subject: 
 
Untrained
User avatar

Joined: Jul 22, 2008
Posts: 6
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
Also, a few mock ups for other menus:
Image Image


Would it be possible to center the inventory and the stats screen? I think, it would fit better then.

If you take a look at the inventory of your party members, you can see, that there inventory is smaller then the inventory from the player. Could it be possible to change this too? Because, this is bugging me. :)


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 3:27 pm Post subject: 
 
Lexx wrote:
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
Also, a few mock ups for other menus:
Image Image


Would it be possible to center the inventory and the stats screen? I think, it would fit better then.

Let's not overcomplicate things. There's no need to change around 100 values just to move something, let's say, 50 pixels down and 100 right for a questionable aesthetic reason. There's lots of buttons/bars/indicators/thingies in the character editor, and the inventory screen consists of two separate ones: the barter one and the actual inventory, and each part can be overlaid with paper dolls, etc. It will be a bitch to change just for an aesthetic reason.

Lexx wrote:
If you take a look at the inventory of your party members, you can see, that there inventory is smaller then the inventory from the player. Could it be possible to change this too? Because, this is bugging me. :)

Maybe. I'm not sure how it will turn out.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Thu Jul 31, 2008 11:03 pm Post subject: 
 
Terra Arcanum Staff
Terra Arcanum Staff

Joined: May 9, 2006
Posts: 843
Location: You never know...
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
I'm quite happy with this version, so unless somebody finds a bug there will be no additions/changes any time soon.


Drog Black Tooth wrote:

Lexx wrote:
Would it be possible to center the inventory and the stats screen? I think, it would fit better then.


Let's not overcomplicate things. There's no need to change around 100 values just to move something, let's say, 50 pixels down and 100 right for a questionable aesthetic reason. There's lots of buttons/bars/indicators/thingies in the character editor, and the inventory screen consists of two separate ones: the barter one and the actual inventory, and each part can be overlaid with paper dolls, etc. It will be a bitch to change just for an aesthetic reason.


I'm also for, at the very least, cenering the UI.

Provided this version may very well be the only (fully functional) hi-res arcanum around for a month or more, and quite possibly the last (and only?) version compatibile with the regular game, aesthetics are important. Having all of the UI shoved to the left/upper-left does look kinda odd - and does bother me a bit.

Can't this be done using some trivial program written in perl or pascal, that would shift all the values by a certian ratio ? Is this done by hacking the game exe (or some library maybe) or is the positioning stored somewhere in the game data files ?

_________________
“Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity”

http://hasthelargehadroncolliderdestroy ... ldyet.com/


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 3:57 am Post subject: 
 
A small update:
-Sounds positioning is changed, according to the resolution.
-The last action slots now work correctly when the original HUD is used in the fullscreen mode.

Updated the first post.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:24 pm Post subject: 
 
Water Merchant
User avatar

Joined: May 10, 2007
Posts: 580
Location: In the Boil, killing members of whichever gang you like more.
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
Vicinity checks in scripts seem to work fine. The resolution isn't that high, so there's a slim chance of a bug.

By this you do you mean that loop for (obj) and IF (obj) can see (obj) work fine? That would be my concern, since heartbeats are fired up at least a sector away, and a lot of encounters are triggered by tile scripts.

Nice work once again, Drog.

_________________
Spontz wrote:
Um, the force of the crash blew it off the PC's body and, um... into a cave... pardon me, the postman is here, and he'd like to deliver a letter-bomb from Isaac Newton).


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:54 am Post subject: 
 
team a wrote:
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
Vicinity checks in scripts seem to work fine. The resolution isn't that high, so there's a slim chance of a bug.

By this you do you mean that loop for (obj) and IF (obj) can see (obj) work fine? That would be my concern, since heartbeats are fired up at least a sector away, and a lot of encounters are triggered by tile scripts.

I mean the looping in scripts, it loops for everything on the screen. (obj) can see (obj) is based on PE checks, so it doesn't matter.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 9:31 am Post subject: 
 
Another tiny bugfix: fixed a compatibility issue with the Extra Pack.

NOTE: If you already have the Extra Pack and the 1024x768 mod v080803 installed, then reinstall the Extra Pack, and then install the new, 080806 version of the mod.

First post updated.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:09 pm Post subject: 
 
Obey your Master
Obey your Master

Joined: Feb 6, 2002
Posts: 10060
Location: Lady Gaga's rear window
http://www.terra-arcanum.com/downloads/ ... 080806.exe

On the server!

_________________
Zanza wrote:
Yeah she can transform into a few different forms. There are things you can do with her afterwards too. Things TDC!


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:19 am Post subject: 
 
Another tiny update. Added blackborders around slides, so you don't see the cached garbage around them.

I also made a pack with highres splash screens (1024x568 instead of 800x400). They're NOT the same images as the original ones, but they're based on the official highres art. Feel free to try them. Put the dat file in your Arcanum folder and they will work. Please note though, if you try to run the game in the original 800x600 mode with them, you won't get any splash screens at all (the game will still run though).

Grab the both files in the first post.

In addition, in case you want the slides to take the whole screen, you can resize them (be sure to convert them back to 256 colors (indexed) mode when you're done). The .bmps are located in the 'slide' folder in arcanum.dat. After you've converted them, add these changes to Arcanum1024x768.exe:
0x1697A6:0004
0x1697AE:0003

BTW, feel free to post any suggestions on improvement of this mod.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:47 pm Post subject: 
 
Updated.

-Fixed the problem with the wrong player position when loading the game the first time.
-Fixed compatibility issues with the UAP.


Top
  
 PostPosted: Sat Nov 29, 2008 5:41 pm Post subject: 
 
Apprentice

Joined: Jul 28, 2008
Posts: 17
Two things:
* The little upper-left "circular window" in various menu screens that normally shows your character and immediate surroundings is off-center - it instead shows things up and to the left. (You can see this in the screenshots in this thread.)
* There doesn't appear to be any fill-in on the bottom and right for the various books, newspapers, notes, etc. in the game. What would it take to add those? (I'd assumed it would simply require just making available one updated image per type of item.)

This is otherwise made of awesome and I love it. :)


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2008 6:47 pm Post subject: 
 
Master

Joined: Dec 5, 2008
Posts: 101
Huh, just noticed this, but I've been running the 1024x768 version just fine with the latest UAP, and now with AWIP6.0. There were a few crashes before I ran your cache utility, but none since. The only problem I see now is on the character page, the portrait is concealed by some of the buttons and lables.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Thu Jan 08, 2009 1:33 pm Post subject: 
 
Not a whinger. Honest.
Not a whinger. Honest.

Joined: Dec 19, 2008
Posts: 32
Drog Black Tooth wrote:
HYPERPOWER! wrote:
The compact UI looks like this:
Image


I like the compact idea, but how about making a compact version of this:

Image

Without the Health and Fatigue bars changed into some ugly little glitchy looking ones like in your screenshot? I love this version from that screenshot above.

_________________
Done with this forum. I am not here, so it's pointless talking at me, because you will be talking to yourself. Thank you for the politeness some people have showed me. The others that can't be nice, you got yours coming. Believe me.


Top
 Profile  
 PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2009 11:45 am Post subject: 
 
Journeyman
User avatar

Joined: Aug 10, 2005
Posts: 31
Location: New Jersey
I don't think there are any files related to that interface left in the game's DAT file, so there wouldn't be anything to work with. Was it from an old beta or something?

I found something similar, but kind of looks even more outdated:

Image

[Edit - I went to that Ultima page you mentioned. The creator didn't modify anything, just posted screenshots from old previews.]


Top
 Profile  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 24 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group